This prospective, multicenter, observational cohort study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of pegylated interferon alfa (peginterferon alfa) (e.g. Pegasys) plus ribavirin and treatment regimens containing direct-acting antivirals in participants with chronic hepatitis C who are treatment-naïve or treatment-experienced and HIV HCV co-infected. Data will be collected from participants receiving treatment according to current Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) and local labeling for the duration of their treatment and a 24-week follow-up.
Study Type
OBSERVATIONAL
Enrollment
4,442
Peg-IFN Alfa-2a according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.
Peg-IFN Alfa-2b according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.
Ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.
Boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.
Telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.
Unnamed facility
Antwerp, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Antwerp, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Bouge, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Brussels, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Brussels, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Brussels, Belgium
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)
SVR24 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR24 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period.
Time frame: 24 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)
SVR12 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period.
Time frame: 12 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)
Virological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)
Virological response (VR) for dual therapy participants is defined as HCV RNA \<50 IU/mL as assessed by a qualitative HCV RNA test with a lower limit of detection (LLD) \<=50 IU/mL or as assessed by a quantitative test with a lower limit of quantification (LLQ) \<=50 IU/mL for all time points concerned. Results of HCV RNA tests with LLD and LLQ \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response. VR for triple therapy participants is defined as undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<=50 IU/mL (UVR). Results of HCV RNA tests with an LLD \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response for triple therapy participants.
Time frame: Week 4, 12 and End of treatment (EOT) (up to 96 weeks)
Virological Relapse After End of Treatment
Virological relapse defined as non-virological response (non-VR)/non-undetectable virological response (non-UVR) at the last HCV RNA assessment during the treatment-free follow-up period in participants with VR/UVR at EOT. Here, number of participants analyzed is the participants with end of treatment response (EoT-R) who also had an HCV RNA test at least 12 weeks after EoT or whose last follow-up HCV RNA test showed non-response (HCV RNA \>=50 IU/mL).
Time frame: Up to 24 weeks after EOT (up to 118 weeks)
Virological Breakthrough
Virological breakthrough/rebound defined as non-VR/non-UVR during the treatment period (including end of treatment) in participants with prior VR/UVR or an increase of HCV RNA by \>=1 log10 during the treatment period in comparison to the lowest HCV RNA (nadir) previously measured during the treatment period in participants without VR/UVR during the treatment period. Here, Number of participants analyzed is the participants with at least 2 on-treatment HCV RNA assessments (including EoT) or 1 on-treatment HCV RNA assessment (excluding EoT) and response at EoT by backward imputation.
Time frame: Up to EOT (up to 118 weeks)
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment Interruptions
SVR 12 and 24 rates for dual therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a qualitative test was used, then the lower limit of detection has to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 and 24 rates for triple therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. Here, number of participants analyzed excluded the participants with premature withdrawal due to lack of efficacy or non-safety reasons and participants without dose reductions or interruptions during the first 99 study days.
Time frame: Up to first 12 weeks of treatment
Percentage of Participants With Very Rapid Virological Response, Rapid Virological Response, Complete Early Virological Response and Partial Early Virological Response (pEVR) During First 12 Weeks
Percentage of participants with very rapid virological response (VRVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 2), rapid virological response (RVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 4, but no VRVR), complete early virological response (cEVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 12, but no VRVR or RVR) and partial early virological response (pEVR) (defined as a 2 log10 drop of HCV RNA by study week 12, but no VRVR, RVR or cEVR) were reported.
Time frame: Up to 12 weeks
Percentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)
Extended (rapid) virological response (eRVR) defined as UVR at weeks 4 and 12 for telaprevir, and as UVR at weeks 8 and 24 for boceprevir.
Time frame: Up to 98 weeks
Duration of Overall Treatment
Duration of overall treatment was defined as the time between first and last administration of any study drug, in weeks.
Time frame: Up to 118 weeks
Percentage of Participants Treated According to Label/Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC)
Time frame: Up to 118 weeks
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)
Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported.
Time frame: Up to 72 weeks of treatment
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)
Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported. Participants who discontinued their treatment as planned were included. Here, number of participant analyzed is the total number of participants who received direct-acting anti-viral (DAA).
Time frame: Up to 72 weeks of treatment
Percentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline
Time frame: Baseline
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)
An AE was defined as any adverse medical event that occurred after the participant used the investigational medicinal product (IMP) or other intervention behaviors specified by the protocol in the clinical trial regardless of relationship to the study treatment.
Time frame: Up to 118 weeks
This platform is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional.
Unnamed facility
Brussels, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Brussels, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Brussels, Belgium
Unnamed facility
Edegem, Belgium
...and 261 more locations