A Phase Ib/II, open label, multi-center, randomized study designed to assess the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics and preliminary anti-tumor activity of immunotherapy-based treatment combinations in patients with locally advanced unresectable or metastatic G/GEJ cancer (hereafter referred to as gastric cancer) and esophageal cancer. Two cohorts of patients with gastric cancer have been enrolled in parallel in this study: the second-line (2L) Gastric Cancer Cohort consists of patients with gastric cancer who have progressed after receiving a platinum-containing or fluoropyrimide-containing chemotherapy regimen in the first-line setting, and the first-line (1L) Gastric Cancer Cohort consists of patients with gastric cancer who have not received prior chemotherapy in this setting. In each cohort, eligible patients will be assigned to one of several treatment arms. Additionally, a cohort of patients with esophageal cancer who have not received prior systemic treatment for their disease will be enrolled in this study. Eligible patients will be randomized to chemotherapy or the combination of chemotherapy with checkpoint inhibitor immunotherapy.
Study Type
INTERVENTIONAL
Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE
Enrollment
219
5-FU 2400 milligrams per square meter (mg/m\^2) by continuous intravenous (IV) infusion over 46 hours on Days 1 and 2 and Days 15 and 16 of every 28-day cycle.
Leucovorin: 100 mg/m\^2 IV over 2 hours on Days 1 and 15 of every 28-day cycle.
Oxaliplatin: 100 mg/m\^2 administered by IV infusion over 2 hours on Days 1 and 15 of every 28-day cycle.
Atezolizumab: 840 mg by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of every 28-day cycle.
Cobimetinib: 60 mg by mouth once a day on Days 1-21 of every 28-day cycle
Ramucirumab: 8 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 60 minutes on Days 1 and 15 of every 28-day cycle.
Paclitaxel: 80 mg/m\^2 administered by IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 28-day cycle.
PEGPH20: 3 micrograms per kilogram (mcg/kg) administered by IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 21-day cycle.
BL-8040: 1.25 mg/kg administered by subcutaneous (SC) injection on Days 1-5 during the 5-day priming period prior to Cycle 1; 1.25 mg/kg administered by SC injection three times a week (Days 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17, and 19 of every 21-day cycle).
Linagliptin: 5 mg orally once a day of every 21-day cycle.
Atezolizumab: 1200 mg administered by IV infusion on Day 1 of every 21-day cycle
Cobimetinib: 40 or 60 mg (depending on the recommended dose determined during the safety run-in phase) by mouth once a day on Days 1-21 of every 28-day cycle.
Cisplatin: 80 mg/m\^2 administered by IV infusion on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle. Treatment will be capped after 6 doses.
Tiragolumab: 600 mg administered by IV infusion on Day 1 of every 21 day cycle.
5-FU 800 mg/m\^2 administerd by IV infusion on Days 1-5 of each 21 day cycle.
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Uni of Southern California
Los Angeles, California, United States
UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
Santa Monica, California, United States
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, New York, United States
Tennessee Oncology - Nashville
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Stage 1: Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR), as Determined by Investigator According to RECIST v1.1
OR was defined as a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) on two consecutive occasions ≥ 4 weeks apart during Stage 1, as determined by the investigator using RECIST v.1.1. Objective response rate (ORR) was defined as the percentage of participants with OR. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in short axis to \<10 millimeters (mm). PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SOD) of all target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD, in the absence of CR. 95% confidence intervals (CI) for rates were constructed using Clopper-Pearson method. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: From randomization up to approximately 84.2 months
Stage 1: Progression Free Survival (PFS) After Randomization, as Determined by Investigator According to RECIST v1.1
PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of documented PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum in the study, including baseline, in addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Participants who did not have documented PD or death, PFS was censored at the day of the last tumor assessment. Kaplan-Meier (K-M) method was used to estimate PFS.
Time frame: From randomization to the first occurrence of PD or death (up to approximately 84.2 months)
Stage 1: Overall Survival (OS) After Randomization
OS was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause. Participants who were still alive at the time of OS analysis were censored at the last date they were known to be alive. K-M methodology was used to estimate the median OS.
Time frame: From randomization to death (up to approximately 84.2 months)
Stage 1: OS at Month 6 and Month 12
OS was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause. Participants who were still alive at the time of OS analysis were censored at the last date they were known to be alive. The K-M approach was used to estimate the percentage of participants who were event-free for OS at Month 6 and Month 12. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: At Months 6 and 12
Stage 1: Duration of Response (DOR), as Determined by Investigator According to RECIST v1.1
DOR was defined as time from first occurrence of a documented OR until the time of documented PD as determined by investigator assessment using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target \& non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD, in the absence of CR. PD=at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Participants who did not have documented PD or death, DOR was censored at the day of the last tumor assessment. K-M method was used to estimate DOR.
Time frame: Up to approximately 84.2 months
Stage 1: Percentage of Participants With Disease Control (DC), as Determined by Investigator According to RECIST v1.1
DC was defined as stable disease (SD) for ≥16 weeks for GC cohort or ≥ 12 weeks for esophageal cancer cohort, or CR/PR, as determined by investigator per RECIST v1.1. Disease control rate (DCR) was defined as percentage of participants with DC. CR was defined as disappearance of all target \& non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least 30% decrease in SOD of target lesions, taking as reference baseline SOD. SD was defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD. PD was defined as at least 20% increase in SOD of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study including baseline (nadir). Additionally, the sum must also demonstrate absolute increase of at least 5 mm or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: Up to approximately 84.2 months
Stages 1 and 2: Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product.
Time frame: Stage 1: Up to 84.2 months; Stage 2: Up to 42.6 months
Stage 1: Serum Concentration of Atezolizumab
1 cycle = 21 days for the all three reported arms: Stage 1 Cohort 2: Atezolizumab + PEGPH20, Stage 1: Atezolizumab + Cisplatin + 5-FU" cohorts and Stage 1: Atezolizumab +Tiragolumab + Cisplatin +5-FU" cohort. The protocol pre-specified that PK assessments could be conducted only for treatment combinations selected by the sponsor for further development. As the sponsor decided not to continue further development of the mFOLFOX6 + atezolizumab + cobimetinib, atezolizumab + linagliptin, and atezolizumab + BL-8040 combinations, PK data were not reported for these cohorts.
Time frame: Pre-dose, 30 minutes (min) post-dose (infusion=60 min) on Day 1 of Cycle 1; pre-dose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, & 28; Stage 1 treatment discontinuation (TD) (up to approximately 82.7 months)
Stage 1: Serum Concentration of Tiragolumab
Time frame: Pre-dose, 30 min post-dose on Day 1 of Cycle 1; pre-dose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, & 28 (1 Cycle=28 days); Stage 1 TD (up to approximately 46.7 months)
Stage 1: Plasma Concentration of PEGPH20
1 Cycle=21 days
Time frame: Pre-dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1, 2, 3, 4 & Days 8, 15 of Cycle 1; 5 minutes & 1-3 hours post-dose: Day 1 Cycle 1; 5 min post-dose: Day 1 Cycle 2; Stage 1: TD (up to approx 3.3 months) & Day 120 post last dose of atezo (up to approx 6.8 months)
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Anti-drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab
Participants who received atezolizumab were considered to be treatment-emergent ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed an ADA response following atezolizumab exposure (treatment-induced ADA response), or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of one or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 titer units (t.u.) greater than the titer of the baseline sample (treatment-enhanced ADA response). Participants with a positive post-baseline sample have been reported here. The protocol pre-specified that ADA assessments could be conducted only for treatment combinations selected by the sponsor for further development. As the sponsor decided not to continue further development of the mFOLFOX6 + atezolizumab + cobimetinib, atezolizumab + linagliptin, and atezolizumab + BL-8040 combinations, ADA data were not reported for these cohorts.
Time frame: Up to approximately 82.7 months
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent ADAs to Tiragolumab
Participants who received tiragolumab were considered to be treatment-emergent ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed an ADA response following tiragolumab exposure (treatment-induced ADA response), or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of one or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 t.u. greater than the titer of the baseline sample (treatment-enhanced ADA response). Participants with a positive post-baseline sample has been reported here.
Time frame: Up to approximately 46.7 months
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent ADAs to PEGPH20
Participants who received PEGPH20 were considered to be treatment-emergent ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed an ADA response following PEGPH20 exposure (treatment-induced ADA response), or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of one or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 t.u. greater than the titer of the baseline sample (treatment-enhanced ADA response). Participants with a positive post-baseline sample has been reported here.
Time frame: Up to approximately 3.3 months
This platform is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas, United States
Blacktown Hospital
Blacktown, New South Wales, Australia
Monash Medical Centre-Moorabbin Campus
Clayton, Victoria, Australia
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Rambam Health Care Campus
Haifa, Israel
...and 18 more locations